Kumbh Mela in Haridwar

Sargam Travels
Kumbh Mela Kumbh Mela
Kumbh Mela In HaridwarKumbh Mela In HaridwarKumbh Mela In HaridwarKumbh Mela In Haridwar

Haridwar 2010 Maha Kumbh

According to astrologers, the 'Kumbh Fair' takes place when the planet Jupiter enters Aquarius and the Sun enters Aries. Kumbh (Kumbha means pot) Mela (means fair) is a sacred Hindu pilgrimage. It takes place at the following four locations of India : Prayag, Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh) , Haridwar(Uttarakhand) , Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh) , Nasik ( Maharashtra )

In 2010 the Kumbh Mela will happen in Haridwar (Uttarakhand) on the bank of River Ganges. Last time Kumbh Mela happened in Hardwar in 1999.

Dates of Kumbha Mela, Haridwar ( Hardwar ) 2010 January 14 to April 28, 2010

Invites You for Kumbh Mela, 2010 Haridwar
Haridwar ( Hardwar ) is located on the foothills of Shivaliks of Himalayan Range. In acient scriptures Haridwar was also known as Tapovan, Mayapuri, Gangadwar and Mokshadwar. It is one of the most sacred seven cities of India . Haridwar have enormous religious significance and a key pilgrimage town for the Hindus. So, this time let your heart soak in all the spirituality to the holy land of Haridwar in Kumbh Mela of 2010.

During 2004 Ardh Kumbh at Haridwar, more than 10 millions devotees gathered at the site. Saints, priests, and yogis from all corners of India , gathered to participate in Kumbh. Haridwar is considered very holy, due to the fact that Ganga enter plains from mountains here itself.

History of Kumbh Mela
The mythology says that during the times when earth was created, the Gods were under a curse that made them weak. Brahma, the creator of universe, guided them to churn the ocean, where they can find Amrit, a divine nectar, which can make them powerful and almighty. Gods agreed to it, but found it very difficult to do it alone, as churning an ocean was no child's play. They asked demons to help them, sharing half nectar with them. The demons agreed to it, listening to the offer. Mandara mountain was used as the mixing rod and Vasuki, the heavenly serpent, offered his body as the rope to move the mountain. The churning process finally started and continued for 1000 years. The mountain Mandara, in the middle of procession, began to sink. Seeing this, Vishnu took the shape of a tortoise and sat under the mountain, providing it support.

After 1000 years, many mythological things came out of the ocean, which included Laksmi the Goddess of Prosperity and Wealth, Sura the Goddess of Wine, Chandra, or the moon, Apsaras, the celestial nymphs, Kaustabha, the precious gem of Vishnu, Uchchaishravas, the divine horse, Parijata, the wishing coral tree, Kamdhenu, the wish-fulfilling Divine Cow, Airavata, the four-tusked white elephant, Panchajanya, or the conch, Sharanga, the invincible bow, and Dhanvantri, Nimi and Bharadwaj - the physicians and surgeons.

Amrit, as soon as came out with Dhanwantari, was siezed by Gods, and they ran away. Demons felt cheated by gods,and ran after them. A battle between gods and demons took place and continued for 12 days and nights. In an endeavor to keep the nectar from falling into the hands of the demons, the demigods hid it in four places on the earth, Prayag (Allahabad), Hardwar, Ujjain, and Nasik. At each of the hiding places, a drop of immortal nectar spilled from the pot and landed on the earth. These four places are since believed to have acquired mystical power. The next Kumbh Mela in Haridwar is due in 2010

Naga Baba / Naga Sadhus
Kumbh Mela or the Kumbh festival invites millions of tourist, pilgrims and foreign national to be the part of this glory of history that hindu religion has to offer human kind. However, not only kumbh festival the major crowd puller to this religious event are Sadhus and Naga baba. These naga baba attracts the attention of all due to their rare appearance and their extra ordinary rituals.

Travelers from round the globe drop in to be a part of Kumbh Mela or Kumbh festival inorder to have a glance of these Naga sadhus meditate and perform the weird religious and spiritual activities. Naga Sadhus belongs to different Akharas (which means camps) and each akharash have their own set of Naga Babas who are living this world in most unconventional way and follow their own set of religion and spiritual activities without caring about this world.

The identification feature of Naga Sadhus include being naked with long hairs knotted with different metals and body smeared with ashes. Not only this, one can see Naga Sadhus could be seen wearing beads of Rudraksha, believe to posses positive healing power according to Hindu mythology. Not just a few but you can witness Naga sadhus wearing thousand of Rudraksha beads and is believed that wearing Eleven thousand Rudrakhsa beads will help them attain the form of Lord Shankara or Lord Shiva.

While you visit the akharas of Naga Sadhus, one can have a glance of these sadhus smoking “CHILUM” (Marijuana). The consumption of bhang is also considered to be a part of the rituals performed by Naga Sadhus. The sadhus hold the view that doing so will lead them to eternity or nirvana.

Akharas in Kumbh Mela
Akhadas of Sanyasi
1. Shri Taponidhi Niranjani Akhada Panchayati
2. Shri Panchayati Anand Akhada
3. Shri Panchadashnam Juna Akhada
4. Shri Panch Ahvan Akhada
5. Shri Agni Akhada
6. Shri Panchayat Akhada Mahanirvani
7. Shri Panch Atal Akhada

Akharas of Bajrangi
1. Shri Nirvani Akhada
2. Shri Digambar Akhada
3. Shri Nimrohi Akhada

Akharas of Nirmal
1. Shri Panchayati Akhada
2. Shri Udasin Panchayati Naya Akhada
3. Shri Nirmal Panchayati Akhada

know more »

know more »

know more »

know more »

All Rights Reserved Sargam Tours & Travel